Frenemies

She’s All Yak is another episode I won’t bother rewatching. It’s garbage. If you want more commentary, go read the first comment on this post and witness me debase myself defending a character I hate for the sake of dragging that episode under the bus.

This week, we get to pretend season nine has an overarching story again! Yay!

Is this where I make a Dune reference? Because I could totally make a Dune reference right now.

So if this show is going to be an endless cycle of characters learning friendship lessons that we’ve already learned as a group ages ago, I want to have these characters learning those lessons. Because it’s different. It’s interesting. And watching them go “EW COOTIES” right at the end was strangely satisfying.

I think the worst thing about this episode is that they couldn’t decide whether Tirek absorbed “magic” or “essence”. Like, there’s a bit of difference, and the dialogue went back and forth on it.

But otherwise? While not amazing, this was definitely fun. I mean, I’m on board the Grogar train for two reasons:

  • Grogar
  • Chrysalis

I love G4 Grogar’s design, and now that we’ve gotten to see more of him, I like him even more. He’s not doing a whole lot aside from pitching a fit (and at least part of me is disappointed Sombra isn’t coming back), but I think they’re selling him as the long-game type really well.

PLUS G4 GUSTY. FINALLY. Gusty was the best G1 pony, I have been pumped to see more of her since S7 when they first mentioned her. And that cutie mark! That’s got G1 written all over it! 😀

And yes, everyone in the chat of the stream I was watching commented on Chrysalis talking to a dildo. Until proven otherwise, I’m going to assume this is actually a Twin Peaks reference. Though, speaking of, I’m very glad Rusty Bucket wasn’t a Monty Python reference. That would have been easy to do, and low-hanging fruit besides.

So yes. Wasn’t awed by the song, but otherwise, watching these three try and get along for a little while was highly amusing, and it feels like a solid, middle-of-the-road kind of episode. A few last thoughts:

  • that Friendship Journal
  • the birds getting blown out of the tree!
  • Cozy is cute and lovable
  • Chrysalis’s little “yes”
  • >sow

Sparkle’s Seven
Common Ground
The Beginning of the End
Frenemies
The Point of No Return
Uprooted
She’s All Yak

Better Way to Be Bad
Fit Right In

About Present Perfect

I'm a goddamn *girl* pony.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Television and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment