Sweet and Smoky

The really great thing about Frenemies, as many have pointed out, is that it’s a real departure from regular episodes. No mane six, no Starlight, no CMCs: nothing but villains. It’s unprecedented. And it gives me some slight hope, that after all these years, they can still find something new to do. Still not a fan of the song, though.

This week, the episode title sounds like a bad clopfic starring Spike. I’ll withhold judgment…

So first we start off with a reminder that Smolder has a brother. Oh, yeah, that was a thing I didn’t care about last season, wasn’t it?

Then we get “we have to accept him for who he is” and I’m cringing, waiting for some kind of horrible, ham-fisted PSA.

And then I had the thought, “What if Smolder’s brother is Garble?”

AND THEN IT HAPPENED

AND NOTHING HURT ANYMORE

This was fantastic. No, Garble’s reformation was not a thing I ever needed, and in the moment, in that final scene where he’s doing beat poetry a solid Captain Kirk impression, I had to admit that it was maybe the most surreal this show has ever been.

But this was a good turn for Smolder, it’s always a joy seeing Ember, and Fluttershy was in top fucking form. All those baby noises at the dragon eggs? My god, what even.

This was funny, it was clever, and it gave us a ton of Dragon Lands world-building. I can only hope the writers will pull more stunts like this in the next twenty episodes. It’ll make this season something to remember. XD

Sparkle’s Seven
Common Ground
Sweet and Smoky
The Beginning of the End
Frenemies
The Point of No Return
Uprooted
She’s All Yak

Better Way to Be Bad
Fit Right In

About Present Perfect

I'm a goddamn *girl* pony.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Television and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment