She Talks to Angel

On a second watch, I realize The Summer Sun Setback is The Mean Six again, but far less subtle and effective with the “main characters don’t realize the villains are doing villain things” idea. I mean, Chrysalis is even one of the antagonists, and it also shows good character growth for a main character, even if it’s perhaps poorly placed in the timeline of the season. So, while it’s not bad, I’ve definitely seen better.

This week, I once again wonder why Lauren Faust decided it would be a good idea to introduce a word like “angel” into Equestria’s lexicon.

I do not think there has been an episode — of any TV show, not just this one — that I have so desperately not wanted to like than this one. Let’s unpack that for a second.

Act 1 of this episode reinforces the taint of Fluttershy Leans In, and how it has forever ruined the idea of the animal sanctuary for me. Any time I see it, or am reminded of it, I immediately clock out. I just hated that episode and its garbage pop psychology and its completely unfounded character growth so much. But that’s a diatribe for a season 7 blog.

And of course, it’s far worse because Fluttershy spends the opening talking about how much she’s either working at the sanctuary or teaching at the school. That’s sort of the whole criticism of season 8, and having the characters be aware of it doesn’t make it any better. This episode has a strong undercurrent of work/life balance, which unfortunately is never resolved in any satisfying way because it’s more focused on the whole “another person’s shoes” idea.

Also, I was very put off once again by the fandom. I’m not sure I have a particularly strong opinion on Angel, but I tend to be sympathetic toward old-school goads in this show, whereas those who do have a strong opinion on him are strongly negative and have a very poor way of expressing this opinion. Not the episode’s fault, but still.

Unfortunately, once Zecora does her shit and they swap bodies in the middle of Ponyville and Andrea Libman gives maybe the best vocal performance of anyone in this entire show’s run… I can’t hate it. I just can’t. It was so great.

And that’s despite all the awful clopfics that are going to follow. I mean, they were basically in couple’s counseling at Zecora. And that crack about Fluttershy wanting to marry Discord, I mean fucking gag me.

This wasn’t even one of those “I never knew I needed it” kind of things. Body swaps are almost always a great idea, and what made this one in particular work was that there wasn’t too much effort put into “try and pretend this has not happened”. I mean, why is that always a part of the trope? Why not seek help from those who might help you, or at least let them know that something bad has happened? In a fantasy world, especially one like Equestria, it’s not gonna have any repercussions.

Angel, of course, doesn’t know that, and he only tries to fool Dr. What’s-her-name, while Fluttershy can’t actually talk to anyone, so it all works out. And I’m glad it did. Angel learning about what Fluttershy does first-hand was a really strong character arc, and it’s a good thing they focused primarily on him, because Fluttershy in his body was considerably less interesting overall. Gets the pony out of their happy little bubble, at least.

Also, I particularly loved how this was a Heart’s Desire kind of scenario, where they were like “Is this supposed to happen?” and Zecora’s all, “Bitch, you better believe it was. Keanu Reeve.

So yeah. Not perfect, but I much prefer episodes that are flawed in the outset than in the finale. Gives you something to look forward to.

Student Counsel
Sparkle’s Seven
The Last Laugh
She Talks to Angel
The Last Crusade
Common Ground
The Beginning of the End
Sweet and Smoky
The Summer Sun Setback
Going to Seed
Frenemies
Rainbow Roadtrip
The Point of No Return
A Trivial Pursuit
Uprooted
2, 4, 6, Greaaat
She’s All Yak
Between Dark and Dawn

The End of the Rainbow
Rainbow Roadtrip
Living in Color
The Last Laugh
Better Way to Be Bad
Fit Right In
Lotta Little Things

About Present Perfect

I'm a goddamn *girl* pony.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Television and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment