Pony Life 1 & 2

My fine ass was not ready to walk through this door.

Yaknow, I’ve been trying to keep an open mind about this… thing ever since it was released. And I think that was the right idea.

The first episode (I guess they’re all two-parters, so that makes it one episode to me) was a really bad first impression, justifying all the doomsaying coming out of the fandom about pretty much everything. Things just happen with no time in between to process (a trend I find distressingly common among modern cartoons). Pinkie Pie seems to have become a singularity of characterization, with each of the rest trending towards her. Very little of it makes any sense. It all comes off as so much twaddle to keep little kids glued to the TV for half an hour.

But I kind of liked episode two? I mean, I’m horrendously tickled by the idea of Rainbow Dash competing to be the worst pony, because she already is. But really, the whole setup was marvelously bizarre in ways that would not have fit with FiM, for all that I would have liked to see it there. All the self-aware humor is what really marks the tone change between the two shows.

So, things I liked:

  • Celestia’s snort, oh my god
  • Dishwater Slog in some weird way (he’s voiced by Thorax)

Things that didn’t bother me as much as I expected them to:

  • The references to television and other general modernizing
  • The more cartoony animation, c.f. Twilight breaking into pieces

Things I have many questions about:

  • Fluttershy size change?
  • WHAT IS WITH THE POTIONS

I can’t even bring to mind anything that made me necessarily angry, though there were one or two things I frowned at. (EDIT: Oh, right, I was kind of irritated at the distinct lack of Scootaloo. Smallfry sucks.) For the most part, this was just a thing I watched, and I kind of had no idea what to make of it. It’s like if someone who had only ever heard of MLPFiM decided to write a random-tagged fanfic. Some bits were amusing, I guess that’s all we can really expect, it’s enough to get me to watch another two episodes maybe, mostly because I miss having something to watch every week. Come back, Kamen Rider. ;_;

About Present Perfect

I'm a goddamn *girl* pony.
This entry was posted in Reviews, Television and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment